27
Jul
09

Don’t Judge a Book by Its Cover

With a cover that is almost devoid of any colour, it sat quietly amidst its fellow hardcovers. On any given day, it would not catch my eye at all; however, on that warm, sunny day serendipity intervened. I cannot even explain the logic behind the involuntary, albeit voluntary in a technical sense, movement of my hand reaching for a book in the middle of the pile. I ignored the simple, bland cover and decided that it will be my reserve book in case I do not get the chance to go back to the library. I placed it at the bottom of my large purse and went on my merry way.

At home, I did not disturb my apparently pre-decided order of reading. The first two did not disappoint; however, much to my surprise, I saved the best one for last. What a wonderful book! Dr. Rubin’s writing is nothing but excellent. She was able to convey her private emotions so eloquently along with such a vivid picture of the different patients. Reading it was captivating and informative at the same time. Such a rare treat! I learned about the core of the counseling experience by giving me, the reader, access to her thoughts and feelings as she processed and assessed each of the clients mentioned in the book. I can honestly say that I finished the book with an even much more appreciation of the therapeutic relationship and gained more information about the application of certain skills than any of the textbooks that I have read so far this year. Moreover, it also made me think about my self, my current views, thoughts, and emotions, and my own trepidations regarding the field that I am about to enter. How I have slightly underestimated what life still has to teach me. Also, I realized that I have partly shielded myself for years now with facts and academic pursuit while I continued to stifle certain affect, both positive and negative, for fear of facing them. Clearly, I am a continuous work in progress.

I recommend this book to everyone.

3 Responses to “Don’t Judge a Book by Its Cover”


  1. 1 Mamabeek
    August 3, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Oooo, really nice review. Now I want to go out and buy it…

  2. 2 b
    August 4, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    What a great review! I will try to add it to my reading list!

  3. August 4, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Thanks, Mamabeek and b! It was another one of my local library finds.

    I actually contemplated providing more details about what was actually covered in the book, but I opted against doing so. I did not want to give the stories away. 🙂


Leave a Reply

