17
Jul
09

Information Sharing

As a person, I tend to be reserved with providing personal information to people I just met. It always left me bewildered how individuals can easily share intimate details about themselves to others such as classmates. I remember an acquaintance telling me about her devastating breakup right before class as a response to my question of “How was your weekend?” It was one of the few times that I was left slightly speechless. I did not know what to say. Sadly, something inappropriate was blurted out from my lips. I said, “Wow!”. I know. Very inappropriate. Not one of my greatest moments.

During class today, we had to share a little something about ourselves and our experiences involving substance abuse counseling. Being a noob to counseling, I did not have much to contribute. I mentioned my background in research briefly and my success in quitting smoking so as not to appear closed-off. Well, apparently this was not enough. My prof prodded me slightly about my research experience and my smoking cessation experience. Another one of those moments that took me by surprise. I did not know what to say. I did not want to talk about my research experience because I did not want to come off snooty considering majority of the people in my class do not have the same background as me. I did not want to sound like a know-it-all. I spewed something vague about my undergraduate thesis. When she asked me about the smoking, I limited the info to how long it took me to quit. This whole experience left me flustered. It felt like an interrogation and I did not want to answer the questions. I’ve been told that I do not disclose much information…that people need to pry them out of me with a barrage of questions. I feel that sharing my privacy is something only I should determine and if I am not disclosing that people should take the hint. Unfortunately, I have been noticing lately that this is not the case. Many individuals do not seem to observe the hints or choose to ignore the hints. It doesn’t upset me per se, but it makes me really really uncomfortable.

0 Responses to “Information Sharing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

