15
Jul
09

Alone with Il Divo

Back in March, I found out the date for the Il Divo concert in Sun City. I immediately considered going as I have always wanted to see them. Unfortunately, being in a new city I was not sure  if I could find someone to go with. The first person that popped in my head was Rio, a friend from school. He agreed to go, but he didn’t really appear to be as excited as I was so I had my reservations. Three months later, I got to know him better and discovered that he is not the type of person I would ever be good friends with so I decided to cancel the initial plan. I did attempt to find another friend who would want to see Il Divo with me. Sadly, they either do not like Il Divo or they never even heard of them. I was back to my original position – no one to go with to the concert.

I tried to forget about it, but as the date approached I started mulling over it again. Then Mr Shell suggested that I should just go by myself. My initial reaction was shock. I never even considered this option. Mr Shell acknowledged my indecision and even offered to accompany me despite the fact that he does not listen to Il Divo. I would not feel comfortable subjecting him to something he has no interest in. After much internal deliberation, I decided to attempt this endeavour alone. I have never done something like this so what can I lose? In terms of cons, there really is none unless one is so utterly pressured to conform by societal norms and expectations. Of course, I would prefer to share this experience with a fellow fan; however, things happen for a reason and I welcome this new experience. C’est la vie!

2 Responses to “Alone with Il Divo”


  1. July 15, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    I’m so impressed!! I bet you’ll have a great time 🙂


Leave a Reply

