09
Jul
09

The Art of Blogging

Many individuals possess varying descriptions and reasons for their blogging endeavours. Some are so adept in writing that their blogs just engage me. Others convey a sincerity about their life or whatever topic they write about. A number of them provide such depth of knowledge and information about their craft, career, or calling that their passion emanates through my computer screen. In essence, blogs are a form of expression with each blogger creating their very own signature way of blogging.

I fall somewhere in the middle of it all. The first blog I had documented, for a very brief period of time, the latter part of my undergraduate years. I wrote about my experiences as a student in the midst of career decisions and research projects. Unfortunately, when the tides got rough I retreated into my shell and disappeared from the blog world. I wasn’t quite ready to share my very deep emotions to the blogosphere just yet. Not to mention I also became slightly more paranoid that someone could decipher my words and figure out who I am. I stopped writing and eventually closed the blog down.

I remember all the blogs I used to read and the readers who used to somehow find interest in what I had to write back then. Even though it was online and I never met any of them, I felt connected to these fellow bloggers. This connection was unexpected that deep down it probably also terrified me a little bit. The logical side battling with the emotional part. To this day, I miss that connection. It was something unique and while I still read about five blogs from my old blog roll it’s just not the same. The old connection is gone.

Now, two years later, I rejoined the blog world. My life has become less exciting and more average. The experiences have shifted gears from science to psychology. I now strive for empathic listening rather than statistical significance. From neuroanatomy to intentional interviewing. From experimental to experiential. It’s a new bag of experiences. Not to mention I now live in a different country as well.

Personally, I’m still slightly hesitant to reveal raw, private emotions yet I am  now more open to maintaining the blog despite these hindrances. To address the extra paranoia issues I had, I selected the option that will prevent my blog from surfacing in google searches. I have many new blogs on my blog roll along with my originals and I thoroughly enjoy reading each one. I may not be able to keep up with my feed as much, but when I do it’s always a pleasure reading them. New connections may just be around the corner.

3 Responses to “The Art of Blogging”


  1. July 11, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    best of luck with your writing, and your tomatoes! as long as you are enjoying what you create, and it doesn’t create stress, see where the currents lead you 🙂

  2. July 11, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    drcharles: Thanks for dropping by. I will take heed and go with the flow. 🙂

  3. 3 b
    July 14, 2009 at 8:27 am

    What a lovely post. I still feel like I’m new to blogging and finding my way. I wanted to write more about my research but paranoia of saying the wrong thing, or being discovered has made it more a personal journey/ everyday life blog.


Leave a Reply

