25
Jun
09

RIP (Insert Famous Person)

Every time I hear about a famous person dying, I always do not know how to react. I can barely describe how I actually feel. It’s like I feel the sadness of the event without actually feeling sad. Unlike many people, I really cannot muster a tear over a famous person because I do not really know these people. It seems a bit illogical to me to cry over a stranger. I’ve always wondered if other people feel the same way I do.

Well, today I found out that Michael Jackson and Farah Fawcett died. Between the both of them, I can empathize more with Michael Jackson mourners than Farah Fawcett’s because I was an 80’s kid. I grew up listening to Michael Jackson. I even remember attempting the moonwalk. Certain childhood memories are linked to some of his songs. Nevertheless, I’m not sad. Once again, I recognize that this is a sad event. Nothing more…nothing less.

This brings me to this funny cartoon Mr Shell sent me.

How true about media coverage.

3 Responses to “RIP (Insert Famous Person)”


  1. 1 Mamabeek
    June 28, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Oooo….I can’t decide if I’m glad I came here or if I’m going to rue this, but I WANT that book! The title and topic alone make it sound interesting, but your description caps it. I’m off to Amazon to order. ;p

    Good to see you doing something fun and interesting too, and sort of NON academic… kinda. Gotta love summer.

  2. 2 Mamabeek
    June 28, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Oh… whups! I commented on the wrong post. Was, obviously, referring to the one up top! I love this strip, and yes, I am in the same spot. I grew up with both, but like you the sadness is at a distance, not personal.

  3. June 28, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    Mamabeek: Thanks =). It was a recent decision to start expanding my nonacademic reading. I have placed it in the back burner for too long. Sadly, I am unable to buy the book at this time as I have to prioritize textbooks over any other books. It is on my “must purchase” list though.


Leave a Reply

