15
May
09

Curves Journey

For the month of May, Curves is conducting, in conjunction with Texas A & M University, a fitness study for women between the ages of 18-65. They offer participants fitness evaluations free of charge and only charge $30 for the entire  month with no signup fee. Since my knowledge of Curves was minimal, this study piqued my curiousity. On Wednesday, I signed up for it. Instantly, I found their system interesting primarily because it was quite different than how I usually workout. Their layout is based on a 30 minute circuit with roughly a dozen machines powered by hydraulics instead of weights. Initially, I had reservations about hydraulics providing the appropriate resistance; however, after my first session I realized that my initial assumption was wrong. I found their core machines to be effective especially in working the oblique abdominal muscles. Unfortunately, I do not think I will continue with a membership once the study ends. This week, I have gone twice and I can already feel my body starting to acclimate to the machines. I need variety in my workout otherwise I will get bored and will stop going. The last thing I need is to allow my exercise regimen to become stagnant again.

If interested in joining the study, try contacting a nearest Curves near you. The signup ended on May 9, but, like me, they may still allow new members this week.

Once the study is over, I will post again to determine its efficacy.

2 Responses to “Curves Journey”


  1. May 16, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Do you have to work out with a group of women? The workout is always marketed as a circle of women rotating amongst equipment, which was a little too social for my taste. I’ll be interested to see how you like it!

  2. May 19, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Well, the four times I’ve gone it has only been me or me and another lady so I guess I picked the right times wherein no one goes there? They did tell me that they do get busy at times so it is possible to be surrounded by a group of women. The social aspect is definitely there. I’m not quite sure how I feel about that just yet. The “trainers” have tendencies to talk to you while you’re working out. One has to be cognizant about not letting them ramble on or let yourself be entangled in a conversation of interest. I’m actually going to start bringing my ipod. Always a good way to say leave me alone… 🙂


Leave a Reply

