21
Apr
09

Smoking

Recently, I saw an episode of King of the Hill that dealt with quitting smoking and it made me think about my own smoking history.

My last undergraduate year was the pinnacle of my smoking habit. It kept me awake during those late nights of testing. It kept me alert while writing my papers and assignments. It helped me relax. In addition to all of these reasons, I actually liked and enjoyed smoking then. I know it’s illogical to many individuals, but when I was smoker the taste did not bother me nor did the knowledge of its negative effects. It was not until the extra semester, that I had to spend finishing up my required courses, when I decided to slowly quit smoking. Something inside me just clicked and I decided to start living a healthier lifestyle. I started decreasing the amount of cigarettes I smoked. Eventually, within a year, I was down to 1 cigarette a day. The hardest part about quitting was the association I made between smoking and coffee. It was very difficult not having that 1 cigarette with my morning coffee. Nevertheless, this was one of the last hurdles I had to overcome.

The last day I had my last cigarette was after almost a week of no smoking. Cupcakes and I went out for some Indian food and I just craved one after the meal. At this point, I did not own cigarettes anymore. Cupcakes gave me one. I had two puffs and that was it for me. The taste repulsed me. The next day, I was officially a nonsmoker. I have not had a cigarette since. This was 3 years ago.

2 Responses to “Smoking”


  1. 1 Mamabeek
    May 2, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    I love stories like these. Not because I can relate, I cant. I have never smoked and every time I’ve tried to lose the vices I do have I’ve failed miserably. But I am still inspired by stories of those who have succeeded and keep hoping that I’ll find some nugget of insight into how the whole process works.

    Good for you!

  2. May 6, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Thanks, Mamabeek. I’m more than happy to share my stories. I may have more if I do eventually lose the vices I currently have as well. *cross fingers*


Leave a Reply

