22
Mar
09

itchiness

I woke up at 3 AM this morning feeling very itchy. My arms were so itchy it actually woke me up. I got up and washed my arms to soothe the itchiness. I tried to go back to sleep and I just couldn’t. The itchiness consumed me that my mind went on overdrive. Thoughts of fleas…flea infestation….images of fleas stuck to my skin…I never went back to sleep. When Mr Shell woke up, I showed him the bumps on my arms. I brought up the flea issue and we went to check Simon. He’s clean. This was no surprise since he has not really been scratching. I”m a little perplexed (and still itchy). I started researching flea prevention, as the last thing I want would be fleas in the apartment. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure! However, as my research progressed, I realized that this may be an allergic reaction. The more I thought about it the more it made sense. Mr Shell has no itchiness or rash. Simon has no fleas. I’m only itchy on my arms – the places where Simon has been licking me every time I pet him. I did not think there is such a thing as being allergic to dog saliva, but it looks like I actually am. Now, I’m in the process of buying this pet allergen spray to put on Simon’s coat and he is not allowed to lick me anymore 😦 . Oh well, c’est la vie.

5 Responses to “itchiness”


  1. March 22, 2009 at 11:09 am

    my grandson is allergic to dog saliva if he is licked on the face…as strange as that may seem. But it is true!

  2. 2 Mamabeek
    March 22, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Aww… poor you and poor him. I do this spray and wipe on my cats during allergy season, then I either wash my hands like mad after I touch them or use a brush to ‘pet’ them. We all hate it, but otherwise somehow cat always manages to get into my eyes, which then swell shut. Sigh.

    Hope this stays a small issue, but even so, itchiness is horrid!

  3. March 27, 2009 at 7:09 am

    lwayswright: I always thought it was their fur/hair that causes the allergies. I never considered dander to be something they could pick up with their tongue and pass on to you. I’m hoping I don’t have to give him up. 😦

    Mamabeek: I ordered a spray online. It hasn’t arrived yet, but I’m hoping it will help. We’ll see what the doc says today. I’ve been washing my hand like crazy too! They’re getting all pruney on me…hehe.

  4. 4 Psych PostDoc
    March 28, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Oh no. I hope the spray helps.

  5. March 29, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I hope so too. I just purchased generic baby wipes so I wipe his paws and bum after every walk. Their paws get so filthy!


Leave a Reply

