07
Mar
09

Sabotage

One of my classes this semester is providing us with experiential experience in learning effective counselling skills. Role playing is a key aspect in the class. As a result, one of our assignments is to videotape a mock session with a classmate. I consider myself to be a good team player; however, I am having a difficult time with my current partner. In a way, I guess it is partially my fault since she asked me and I agreed (this is me being too nice). I should’ve listened to my gut instinct which was yelling “not with her…remember her attitude from last class!” Now, I am paying the price. She is on a mission to sabotage me. On one of our role plays, she explicitly told me that she was not giving me any information and that she will only respond to my questions in minimal (1 or 2) sentences. She wants me to stumble and get flustered that I will end up performing horribly. (She actually said she will make it difficult for me!) Okay, who the F$%& does this?!?! This is a learning environment. Everyone in the class strives to learn as much as they can to be competent counsellors. I admit it. It is really pissing me off. Does she really think that trying really hard to make sure that I will have a difficult time and make mistakes will boost her marks? I do not think so. I am tempted to say something to her, but chose not to. We are recording our videotape project tomorrow and I am just ensuring that I can handle whatever she throws at me – whatever the situation she will choose may be as she was not open to possibly sharing mock client stories ahead of time. Some people just drain your energy. I might need to go the gym tomorrow to release some stress.

2 Responses to “Sabotage”


  1. March 8, 2009 at 6:12 am

    What a pain in the ass classmate. Here is a useful phrases that might help:

    “I’m noticing that you’re not really sharing much information with me, and I’m wondering why that is?” (In a nonresponsive client, I then begin sharing reasons “other clients” sometimes don’t share)

    “I’m noticing that you’re not really sharing much information with me, and I’m wondering why you decided to come in today?”

    “I’m noticing that we’re not really connecting, and I’m wondering why that is?”

    Good luck. I hate classmates like that. Does she think she’s going to look awesome for being difficult??

  2. March 8, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Thank you very much for the suggestions, psycgirl! I will definitely use them. They are wonderful tips especially for a beginner such as myself. 🙂

    And yeah, I’m already tense just thinking about the mock session UGH!


Leave a Reply

