01
Mar
09

31 Day Challenge – Finito

For 31 days, actually it ended up being 35 days, I did sit-ups every single day. At first, it was challenging as I have ignored the gym and any exercise activity for the past few months. During the first week, it was hard to even remember doing it. I was also struggling to find an ideal time to do it. I found that doing sit-ups in the evening kept me awake for at least an hour longer than my bedtime. Through trial and error, morning was the most conducive for me. This should have been apparent since I have always preferred working out first thing in the morning. So I timed my situps so I would either be doing them right when I wake up or sometime in between breakfast and lunch. By the second week, it was almost routine for me.

I wasn’t really expecting anything magical to come out of this challenge. I just wanted to push myself to start getting active again especially since developing my core is key to easing my neck and upper back pain. Now, I’m planning on maintaining the sit-ups maybe not on a daily basis anymore, but every other day. I’m feeling quite optimistic so I’m starting another challenge for myself. I’m going to try to make it to the gym at least once a week for the next couple of weeks and then progressively increase it to twice, thrice, and so forth. Hopefully, this will alleviate my neck and back issues as I am really getting impatient with it.

3 Responses to “31 Day Challenge – Finito”


  1. 2 b
    March 2, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    That is pretty awesome about the sit-ups! I struggle to make it to the gym once a week. Sometimes I go 2 times or more but lately even going once has been very difficult.

  2. March 7, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    UR: Thanks! πŸ™‚

    b: Thanks! πŸ™‚ The gym is still a struggle for me as well so I actually changed the gym at least once a week to yoga. So far, 1 week down.


Leave a Reply

