21
Feb
09

Being Googlable

I coined the term ‘googlable‘, pronounced googable, as a way to describe the ability of one’s name to yield results using the Google search engine. For example, typing in one’s name on Google and resulting in at least 1 hit makes you googlable. Of course, the 1 hit must refer to you specifically and not just another person with the same name as you. Now, my last name is not a very common one so every now and again I would google myself. When I used to be a tutor for Winter City school board, I had at least 2 hits as their newletter was posted online. After I left, I became ungooglable for a good chunk of time. Today, for some unknown reason, I decided to check my name again. To my surprise, I actually had 1 hit. An even greater surprise is the website that I found my name on, Neurotree. One of the profs I worked for a couple of years ago recently added his branch of the neurotree. I guess as of today, I am googlable once again.

7 Responses to “Being Googlable”


  1. 1 Mamabeek
    February 22, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I am ALL OVER the place. Hypergooglable I guess. Hate it and trying to get stuff down, little by little. My dad is very into genealogy and put up detailed information, including name, address and phone number of everyone related to him. My high school put up a webpage with all the info we provided them at our reunions that was to be available just to our classmates. Lots of other things have probably contributed too, but it makes me rather nauseous when I look at it…

  2. February 22, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I chose to not go to my high school reunion. It was much too expensive to fly back just for a couple of days. I couldn’t justify the costs. I dunno how I would feel about giving my info to classmates. Isn’t that what facebook is for? hehe

  3. February 24, 2009 at 10:20 am

    I’m googleable because of my professional life (conferences, research, etc). Such is life I guess.

  4. 4 Mamabeek
    February 25, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Uh oh… I’m showing my age here. There WAS no such thing as Facebook when I attended my 10th or my 20th HS reunion!!! Yikes, I don’t like seeing that second number in print.

  5. February 27, 2009 at 8:53 am

    TR: True enough. Being very googlable, do you find it hard to remain anonymous in your blog?

    Mamabeek: Age is nothing but a number =) . Actually, my high school reunion was actually posted as an invite on facebook. I guess there’s no need to send anything by snail mail anymore.

  6. February 27, 2009 at 11:10 am

    A couple of people know who I am. I was pretty careful at first, but it became too stressful to worry about all of the time. I keep my blog for personal musings, and for the most part it has worked out.

  7. March 1, 2009 at 8:36 am

    TR: I’m still at the phase of trying really hard to ensure anonymity. It’s an exhaustive effort, but I’m not quite ready to found just yet. Eventually, I’ll ease up. Part of being a returned blog noob, I guess.


Leave a Reply

