13
Feb
09

Friday the 13th

My Mom is one of those people who staunchly believes in the superstition behind Friday the 13th. Every time it happens she bombards me with her anxiety for my safety. Over the years, I have learned to give her the occassional grunts of acknowledgement as previous attempts of dissuading her were futile. One has to learn to pick their battles. Today (Friday) is “call Mom day” for me so this morning, I was feeling pangs of trepidation. Maybe she won’t get too carried away this year. Nevertheless, I decided to make muffins to calm me down before I call her. I used this muffin mix from Williams-Sonoma that has been sitting in the cupboard for a few months now. I haven’t tried any of their mixes before so I was a little excited.

Much like other muffin mixes, it was pretty straightforward. Water and eggs were all that was needed. I did add real bananas to the mixture to enhance the flavour. It only took about 20 minutes for each batch of eight muffins. In the end, it yielded a dozen muffins. Also, it is worth noting that there was a significant amount of walnuts in the mix which is quite impressive. After less than an hour, I had moist banana-nut muffins for breakfast. Although in hindsight, I should’ve added chocolate chips.

2 Responses to “Friday the 13th”


  1. 1 b
    February 15, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Hhhhmmm those look good! I hope you and your mom survived the 13th!

  2. February 15, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Thanks! They were quite delectable. Much to my surprise my mom did not go overboard this time =)


Leave a Reply

