05
Feb
09

Superbowl Spring Roll

As per Mr Shell’s request, I made spring rolls for the superbowl party we attended on Sunday. It was an odd choice as I typically associate superbowl parties with wings, pizza, nachos, and beer. Spring rolls seem to be out of place yet Mr Shell and I dared to be different. Now, I have tried numerous spring roll recipes over the years. I’ve used different combinations of ingredients, different wrappers, fried them, baked them, even did a fry-bake combo. I really was in search of my own spring roll version. My perseverance paid off on Sunday.Finally, I was able to finalize Shell’s Spring Roll Recipe and I am sharing it today. Unfortunately, I do not really measure anything as I believe that one should season according to their own taste not based on a recipe.

Shell’s Spring Roll Recipe

Ingredients:

ground beef

carrots

mushroom

onion

green onions

garlic

oil

egg roll wrappers

salt and pepper

soy sauce

sugar

chili flakes

chili powder

Steps:

1. Roughly chop the carrots, garlic, and onions into cubes. Slice the mushrooms and green onions.

2. Heat a nonstick pan. Add ground beef. When ground beef is half-cooked, add chili flakes. Once cooked, drain the oil released by the beef. Set aside.

3. Using the same pan, add a little bit of oil. [tip: I just left a little bit of the beef oil on the pan] Saute onions until caramelized. Add the carrots.

4. When the carrots are half-cooked, add mushrooms, green onions, and garlic. Add a little bit of salt, pepper, and chili powder.

5. Add the cooked ground beef.

6. Season the filling to taste.

[I primarily use salt as seasoning but then I also add a little bit of soy sauce, specifically Silver Swan soy sauce, because I like the taste it gives the mixture. Keep in mind that this type of soy sauce is salty so if you decide to use it start off slowly. I also add a little bit of sugar (roughly 1 tsp). This balances out the saltiness and spicyness.]

7. Once the filling has cooled down, start forming the spring rolls. Use plain water to seal them.

8. Heat oil for deep frying. Fry the rolls until brown.

9. Serve with your choice of sauce.

Enjoy!

0 Responses to “Superbowl Spring Roll”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

