22
Jan
09

Cellphone Transition

My introduction to the QWERTY keyboard was the first version of the Motorola Q. Other than the keyboard, it was a disappointing phone. Much like the Windows experience, it either froze or crashed when too many applications are open. It even froze from just handling msn messenger all day. Also, typical to the Motorola brand, the battery life was atrocious. I stuck with it for slightly over a year with hopes that updates will fix it. It never did. Luckily, I moved so that was the end of my horrific Q experience.

The move to Sun City ended up costing more than expected so getting a new cellphone was out of reach for the first few months. I settled for my US phone, which had the regular keyboard. I had to get accustomed to regular texting again. Chatting on it was even very tedious. To make matters worse, I spilled water on it so it encountered reception problems. I needed a new phone soon.

Finally, I managed to lay my Nokia to rest. I was tempted by the Samsung touchtone phone as it looked so sleek and stylish yet I opted for the Blackberry Curve  8330 8320. I contemplated waiting for the release of the new Curve (8900), but realized that I cannot bear to spend that much money on it. I checked out reviews comparing both models and the primary advantages of the 8900 are the higher resolution screen and a slightly faster processor. Neither of these sold me on spending the extra $$$. I did splurge on a skin though.

So far, I am very impressed with the simplicity and ease of use of the Blackberry. The fact that it picks up wifi is an added plus. I’m actually a little upset with myself for waiting this long to try it. I should’ve just skipped the Moto all together. Now, I’m in the process of adding applications such as Google Reader. I can’t wait!

1 Response to “Cellphone Transition”


  1. May 30, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest
    authoring on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would enjoy your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.


Leave a Reply

