21
Dec
08

Fat Welcome

Society has always been ruthless in propagating the ideal physical form a woman must have or achieve. As a woman, you must arm yourself appropriately so as not to succumb to the societal pressures. However, there is that one aspect that always gets to me. It’s not the societal pressure of being thin but it’s the added cultural pressure of being the right “size” that chips away at my armour. One of the things I dread about the holidays is when I see family and the first thing that comes out of their mouths is either that I gained weight or I lost weight. ALWAYS. Granted, there are a few who refuse to bring it up because of how rude it is, but I also have the ones who always just cannot seem to keep their mouths shut. I’ m a little irritated right now because as always it happened again this year. To make matters worse, I was actually welcomed by it. This is a first. Typically, my mom will say something to me probably halfway through my visit, but this time was different. The first thing that came out of her mouth, AT THE AIRPORT, was that I gained weight. Yes, I get it. I know. I probably gained about 8-10 lbs this year compared to last year. I know I need to go back to the gym. I know I need to start doing yoga again. Yet, is this how I should be welcomed? I am not impressed. If this is already what my mom is saying, Christmas Eve with the rest of the family will be even more fun. The fat police will be there. I will be getting fat citations left right and centre. It will be one festive night! Unfortunately, Santa cannot magically turn me into the typical petite 100 lb Asian overnight.

5 Responses to “Fat Welcome”


  1. December 21, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Hmmmm…..lesseee here:

    “Gee, Mom, you’ve sure aged a lot since I’ve been gone.”

    “Mom, I love you no matter what you look like.”

    “I’ve really been busting my ass in this new program – what have you been doing again?”

    “Boy, it would really be great if I had the money to eat more healthy but gas has been expensive and all I could afford was high-fat, high-caloric food – while I’m busting my ass in this new program.”

    Weight be damned, my friend. I’m sure you look great.

    You’ll need to be drinking this visit. Worry about yoga later.

  2. 2 b
    December 23, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    I hear your pain. My grandma says stuff like that to me, while at the same time asking my husband if he’s lost weight! GRRRR!
    thanks for the b-day wishes 😉

  3. 3 Mamabeek
    December 24, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Oh I hear ya! My dad, who is 100+ pounds beyond a safe weight for him, loves to comment on his kids. I have had a big butt, fat arms, fat face, been “packing it on” and countless other tactless and outright cruel comments in greeting. My mom usually waits till halfway through the visit and is kind enough to tell me she’s struggling with her weight too. My oldest sister doesn’t say a word about my weight but is always wanting to share, unsolicited, her low fat recipes and suggest new ways I can work out to stay fit.

    I’m not going to visit anyone this year. So THERE!

    I hope it’s not as bad as you fear and I don’t give a hoot what shape you are, I’m just delighted and flattered you stopped by my blog. 🙂

  4. December 24, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Thank you for the comments. I wish all of you the best this holiday season!

    Dr. Abel:
    Weight be damned! Pretty sure I will be saying that till the holidays are over. I think my mom read your mind too since she is sending me home with two bottles of my favourite wine =). Maybe she sensed I may need them after the family get together.

    B:
    I remember when an ex-bf lost 15 lbs after his car broke down and all he had to do was take public transit. Yeah, I wish it was THAT easy for everyone o_O

    Mamabeek:
    I wish I can just say no to not visiting anyone at all. I think my mom would literally drag me to the get togethers if I refuse. I did have one less family party to go to this year though. I will have my fingers crossed regarding this evening!


Leave a Reply

